Recipe-Black Bean Soup

My friend, Emily, asked for this recipe.  She’s on a mission to have a fall full of home-cooked soups.  I love that idea and plan to include more soups in my meal plans.  I have several tried-and-true favorites, but I’m always on the lookout for new recipes.  I’ll share any good ones I happen upon.

This black bean soup is so ridiculously easy.  I use leftover rotisserie chicken and Minute Brown Rice (I know, I know! But it is fine in this recipe).  It makes a ton and it’s great with sour cream and a little shredded cheese on top.  Without further ado, I give you Black Bean Soup

  • 3/4 cup chopped celery
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced or put through a garlic press
  • 1 Tablespoon canola oil
  • 3 cans (14.5 oz each) chicken broth
  • 2 cans (15 oz each) black beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1 jar (16 oz) salsa [I use Pace picante Sauce]
  • 1 cup cubed cooked chicken breast
  • 1 cup cooked brown rice
  • 1 Tablespoon lime juice
  • 1 tsp ground cumin

Directions-In a large saucepan, sauté celery, onion and garlic in oil until tender.  Stir in the remaining ingredients; heat through.  Makes 10 servings. Each serving has 154 calories, 2 grams of fat, 5 grams of fiber and 10 grams of protein. 

Enjoy!

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipes

Leave a Reply

