Souper Science Fair Project Sunday

Look, it’s Science Fair Sunday, the terriblest, horriblest, worstest, no-goodest, very baddest day of the year. Fer realz.  There isn’t much good to write about today.  There was pouting and procrastinating and quite a lot of looking at the Science Fair Manual to ensure the proper placement of things on the board and  after I finished doing all that, Ike and I got down to business and finished the cursed thing. 

And then I went to the kitchen and started some soup.  It seemed the only way to remedy this day.  And it worked.  The soup and the walk with the dogs saved the day.  There was a small incident with a new lawn ornament during the dog walking.  Santa in a hot air balloon.  And dudes, I could not tell if that Santa was real or not! He was a “life-size” blow-up replica of the real saint standing in a hot air balloon.  Or I suppose it is, I have no idea how tall Mr. Kringle is. But I can tell you that this rendition was anything but right or jolly.  It was straight up creepy!  And when we got close, Charley lost his mind and turned me completely around when he tried to run behind me and out into the street.  Way to protect me, Charles!  Thanks eversomuch!   

The good news is that I had started the soup before I left for the walk, so it was ready when we got home.  I’m giving you the recipe and then I’m going to put on my feetie pajamas and going to read before bed.  I don’t actually have feetie pajamas.  I do have some pajamas, but I can’t find them.  I have no idea where they could be and in any case, they have no feet in them. But I digress.

The recipe is from Weightwatchers.com

Home-Style Chicken Soup

Ingredients

 
  2 tsp olive oil   
  2 medium leek(s), trimmed to white and light-green parts, cleaned, and thinly sliced   
  1 medium carrot(s), thinly sliced   
  1 medium onion(s), finely chopped   
  1/2 pound(s) skinless chicken thigh(s), or skinned and trimmed of all visible fat   
  3 cup(s) reduced-sodium chicken broth   
  1 Tbsp parsley, fresh, chopped   
  1/2 tsp table salt   
  1/4 tsp black pepper, freshly ground   

Instructions

  • Heat the oil in a large nonstick saucepan over medium heat. Add the leeks, carrot, and onion; cook, stirring occasionally, until softened, about 10 minutes. Add the chicken and broth; bring to a boil. Reduce the heat and simmer, covered, until the chicken is cooked through, about 20 minutes.
  • Transfer the chicken to a cutting board and let cool slightly. Remove the chicken from the bones and chop; return the chicken to the soup. Add the parsley, salt, and pepper. Simmer until the chicken is heated through, 2–3 minutes. Yields about 1 cup per serving.

Notes

  • We use chopped fresh parsley in this recipe, but you can also try chopped fresh thyme, dill, or a combination of the three

I doubled the recipe and doubled all the veggies too.  It could have used some garlic-but I think just about everything could use some garlic. I also used the fresh thyme. It is very tasty! 

xoxoxoxox,

jane

P.S. If this makes absolutely no sense, I apologize.  Science Fair Sunday slays me.

3 Comments

Filed under dogs and cats living together, food, Recipes, Sam and Russ and Ike

3 responses to “Souper Science Fair Project Sunday

  1. Jane,
    What a cool blog. I’m sorry I just found it. Say hi to ALL the boys. Have a blessed Christmas.

  2. Thanks, Frank! So glad you found it! Hope you all have a great Christmas too!

Leave a Reply

