Let’s call them “things to work toward”, shall we?

So, it’s that time of year. Resolution time. I’m going to show you mine and I want you to show me yours, mmmkay? <–that is not a resolution, that is a statement telling you that I want you to share your resolutions with me. Although that could be a resolution if *you* are my husband. Ahem. Back to resolutions.

Here they are, in no particular order-

#1: 6 sun salutations every morning to center my thoughts and stretch my body.

#2: Use Flylady principles to be more organized and productive. (Namely, this will entail me using my timer so that I do at least 15 minutes of work and then 15 minutes of not work.) I had no idea how difficult working from home would be when there are a million distractions or other chores that need to be done. Look! The stove burner covers are filthy! I’ll just tidy them up before I get to work on that article. Look! There’s a cool video to watch on youtube, I’ll just check  that out before I do more research. Oh and here’s another version of the same song…Look! A great website on gardening! I really need to investigate how to grow tomatilloes. Last year’s crop was disappointing. Crap in a hat, I’m like a squirrel with ADHD.

#3: Write 3 pages of morning musings in my journal before any computer time. I call them morning musings. Julia Cameron calls them morning pages. Go here and see how wonderful she is!

#4: Practice positive self-talk and have confidence in myself. My worst enemy cannot say as hateful things about me as I do. Sweet lard in a pie crust. It really needs to stop. I can’t possibly be that bad.

#5: Spend more one-on-one time with each of my men. I’m hoping to have one night each month that I spend doing something fun with each of my guys. Originally, I thought 1 night a week, but let’s be realistic here; There aren’t 3 free nights a week. So I scaled back to one fun night a month.

#6: Read more than 24 books.  And yes, I would be happy with 25.

And the last resolution is one that cannot be quantified or  really spelled out: Put more love and peace out into the world. What does that look like? I don’t really know, but I think it has to do with loving folks even when they are being un-lovable, less talking and more listening, more time with my hands in the dirt, more hugs, telling folks I love them and appreciate them more often, less clutter, less stuff, more meditation (dare I say prayer?), more time in the kitchen,more laughing, being quicker to forgive…I’m sure there’s more, but that will do for now.

Now show me yours!

xoxoxoxox,

jane

Leave a comment

Filed under Holidays, new year

Leave a Reply

