Pi day recap/Caution overwhelming cuteness ahead

I’m pretty sure that after my last post, I said I would be back “on the morrow with a recipe”. Um, yeah. It’s way past morrow. More like a fortnight. And today I have a recipe for you, but it wasn’t the one I had planned to share. I’ll save that for another post.
It seems like time has flown by! We’ve been busy with strange work schedules and school conferences and hormonal crying jags (oh wait, that was just me. I’m better now) We also had visitors from the Lone Star State last weekend. It was so much fun to see my brother-in-law, sister-in-law and my great niece! The great state of Missouri actually had a fluke snowfall the first night they were here. We know how to welcome visitors here in the midwest!
Since the Texans were here over Pi day (3.14), I thought it would be fun to make a pie with Janae. She’s 2 and a half and full of energy and smiles and is talking up a storm. Such a great age. And cooking with kids is so much fun. Just make sure that you are prepared for spills and mishaps and all will be good.
I decided that we would go with a no-cook pie. Janae is so young and instant gratification is a good way to keep littles from being bored whilst cooking. Pudding pie-perfect!
Here’s the recipe in pictures:

Take a chocolate graham cracker crust...

Add one super cute little girl and a box of chocolate instant pudding...

Let the cutie put the pudding mix in a bowl (with just a little help so that most of the mix ends up in the bowl)

Add the milk and then let the sweet girl whisk (please to hold the bowl so that it doesn't end up on the floor!)

The beautiful smile adds an extra touch of sweetness to the pie! Whisking...

More whisking. More bowl holding.

Pour the pudding into the crust and then you get to EAT THE LEFTOVER PUDDING!

I believe this may have been Janae's favorite part! Smart girl!

Garnish with squirty whipped cream and TA DA! Pudding Pie for Pi day!

Then, if you are super lucky like Janae, you get to sit on Grandma's lap and enjoy the fruits of your labors!

Having family to love is awesome, si?
xoxoxox,
jane
1 Comment

Filed under food, Holidays, Recipes

One response to “Pi day recap/Caution overwhelming cuteness ahead

  1. Ellen (Baeder) Brda

    hey, I missed this blog post earlier–LOVE IT!! Family to love is an awesome thing, indeed! LOVE YOU, JANE!!!!

Leave a Reply

