Sundays were meant to be spent this way

Truly.

 

Sleeping in, spending time with the family. Going for a long walk. Getting some errands done. Reading. And for fun, a little cooking. Perfection.

 

 

 

The day started with the children asking for waffles.  My go-to waffle recipe is from my favorite cookbook-How to Cook Everything by Mark Bittman.  If you’re looking for a present for someone who loves to cook, get them HTCE.  The Overnight Waffle recipe makes the best waffles ever, but the Everyday Waffles are quite tasty, too.  And since I was in no shape last night to be operating any kind of machinery (Hello there, Birthday Celebration!), the mixing had to wait until this morning.

 

 

 

The kids and Russ ate them with the standard butter and syrup.  Although Russ had his with real maple syrup.  The kids don’t like real maple syrup.  Crazy!  They want that fake flavored sugar water, but I’m hoping someday they will outgrow that and realize how good tree sap can be.  I wanted to make mine a little more on the healthy side, so I had mine with yogurt and cherries on top.  Stay with me here, folks.  This was so delicious.  You have to try this! 

 

 

 

First, I mixed a small container of Chobani plain non-fat greek yogurt with a tablespoon of maple syrup. 

001

 

Then I put the yogurt on a half of one of those round waffles and topped it with some thawed sweet cherries. 

002

Yep, it’s healthy.  And delicious. Those things don’t have to be mutually exclusive!  Who knew? Well, I did.  And now you do too.  You probably knew it already though, didn’t you?

 

 

 

I was on a roll (or on a waffle) and dinner was healthy and delicious too.  When I made the Sweet Potato and Black Bean Chili a few weeks ago, I came across a recipe for Black Bean and Sweet Potato Enchiladas  that I thought sounded interesting.  Today, I decided that I would make those enchiladas.  The only problem was that I couldn’t find the recipe.  Or remember where the recipe may be on-line. So I just googled and put together my own recipe based on several similar recipes.  Here’s what I came up with:

 

Sweet Potato and Black Bean Enchiladas

 

  • 1 large sweet potato, cooked until almost done and then cut into 1-inch cubes
  • 1 (15 ounce) can  black beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1 medium onion, diced
  • 1 (4 ounce) can green chilies
  • 1 teaspoon coriander
  • 2 teaspoons cumin
  • 1 teaspoon chili powder (I used Ancho Chili powder)
  • 2 garlic cloves
  • 1 (16 ounce) can green enchilada sauce
  • 6 flour tortillas
  • Shredded cheddar/jack cheese

 

Directions:

  1. Cook the sweet potato until almost tender.  I microwaved them and then let them cool until I could handle them.  Then I peeled and chopped them.
  2. Put oil in a large skillet and then add everything except the enchilada sauce.  Saute until the onions are are soft and everything is well mixed.
  3. Spray the bottom of a 9×13-inch pan with cooking spray.  Pour a bit of the enchilada sauce into the pan. Divide the filling between 6 tortillas. Roll and place seam side down in the pan.  Top with the rest of the enchilada sauce.  Bake at 350 for about 40 minutes. Sprinkle the cheese over the enchiladas when there are 5 minutes left in the cooking time.

Serve with plain, fat-free yogurt (greek-style is best) or sour cream.  Enjoy!

 

 

 

007

Black beans and sweet potatoes-a match made in heaven

 

010

Look at ‘em, just sitting there looking pretty, waiting to go into the oven!

Here’s my dinner plate-

018

Normally, the rule is that I make one dinner and you have to try it and if you don’t like it, then you get up and make a pbj or go hungry.  Whichever of those you choose.  (And when I say “you”, I don’t mean *you*.  I mean the children in this house to whom I gave birth.  If *you* come to my house, I promise to do my best to make *you* something *you* like. I’m not trying to teach *you* how to like new things.  That was *your* mom’s job.)

 

 

But I knew the boys weren’t going to have any part of the enchiladas.  And besides wanting them to have a good dinner (and avoid the whining!), I was looking to later this week when things are going to be very busy and I decided to make them Sloppy Joes and planned to serve the leftovers later this week.  They are Pioneer Woman’s recipe.  That woman knows what is good!  Mmmmmhmmm! 

 

 

 

To make these as healthy as possible, I used the leanest ground beef I could find (93% fat-free).  They were served on whole wheat hamburger buns. The boys didn’t care they were healthy, they just scarfed them down.

 

013

Grill those buns!

016

And then eat!

I hope your Sunday was a good one! 

 

xoxoxoxox,

jane

1 Comment

Filed under books, food, Recipes

One response to “Sundays were meant to be spent this way

  1. Pingback: A match made in heaven | the jane gang

Leave a Reply

